Council Events

Centralian Awards

The Cen­tralian Awards are award­ed each at each Aus­tralia Day Flag Rais­ing and Cit­i­zen­ship Cer­e­mo­ny, cel­e­brat­ing the recip­i­ents’ sig­nif­i­cant con­tri­bu­tions to the Alice Springs community.

There are five awards:

  • Cen­tralian Cit­i­zen of the Year
  • Young Cen­tralian Cit­i­zen of the Year
  • Cen­tralian Senior Cit­i­zen of the Year
  • Vol­un­teer of the Year
  • Com­mu­ni­ty Event of the Year

Nom­i­nate now

Nom­i­na­tions for the 2019 Awards close on Decem­ber 5. Nom­i­na­tions for 2020 will open late 2019.

Year Awarded Citizen Young Citizen Event
1981  Joan Higgins     
1982  Margaret Hall  Andrew Lee   
1983  Graham Ross  Carol Frost   
1984  Harry Portlock  Susan Kennedy   
1985  Ossie Watts   Toni Semple   
1986  Alan Wauchope  Vicki Rice   
1987  Lyel Kempster  John Piper   
1988  Paul Sitzler  Matthew Kennedy   
1989  Bill Prior  Chris McLean   
1990  Len Kittle  Steven Williams   
1991  Sue Ride & Eileen Heath  Aaron Norris   
1992  John Amadio  Hamish MacDonald   
1993  Bob Corby  Nicole Walsh   
1994  Francis Woods  Tricia O’Callaghan    
1995  Allan Page  Ashley Briggs   
1996  Bev Seidel  Dale McIver   
1997  Max O’Callaghan  Lizzie Morton   
1998  Jan Beven  Mister Shaun   
1999  Russell Naismith  Natalie Moody   
2000  Mary Dare     
2001  Paul Herrick  Lisa McGargill   
2002  Russell Ward  Gavin McGargill & Tallulah Cunningham   
2003  Scott Balfour, David Evans & Bob Barford  Kerry Hobbs   
2005  Mary Meldrum  Emma Smith   
2006  John Pyper  Kylie Bell   
2007  Mildred Inkamala & Pippa Tessman  Kelvin Caspari    
2008  June Noble  Tanika Richards   
2009  Dianne Deans & Maureen York    Beanie Festival 
2010  Dean Griffiths  Isaac Elliott  Variety Club Bash 
2011  Chris Wilkinson  Darcy Davis  National Road Transport Hall of Fame Reunion 
Year Awarded Centralian Citizen Young Centralian Citizen Event Volunteer Senior Citizen
2012  Bev Ellis  Gavin Henderson  ASTC Christmas Carnival     
2013  Glen Auricht  Annalies Doecke  Drovers Ball     
2014  Peter Lowson  Jacilyn Lindner  NT & Australian Dirt Kart Titles  Michelle Thomas   
2015  Michele Castagna  Makhosini Khumalo  Asbuild Colour Smash  Lex Fitchett    
2016  Gerry Lyons  Caleb Maru  Red Centre NATS Street Parade  Ben Crawford   
2017  Andrea Mason  Cindy Uzzell & Claire Ryan  Alice Springs Running and Walking Club  Russell North  Geoff Sloan 
2018  Debbie Page  Shaquiena George  The Poppy Project  Jeff Huyben  Celia Otley 
2019  Robert Clarke  Jordann Hickey  2018 Finke Street Party & Night Market  Megan Brown   Syd Kinsman