Mayoral award winners

Download full release 

At a ceremony to mark ‘International Day of People with a Disability', Mayor Ryan will today announce the winners of the 2014 Mayoral Awards.

“This year we had so many great nominations, we’ve had joint winners for the first time ever and in both categories!  This just goes to show the calibre of nominations.”  Said Mayor Ryan.

The Champion Award - acknowledges a person with or without a disability who has been an advocate for the rights and well-being of people with a disability.  The finalists are:

-       Megan Crowe, Philomena Hali, Sheana Ham, Joyanne Hastwell, Karen Stewart

And the winner is – (joint) Karen Stewart & Joyanne Hastwell

The Noteworthy Award - which acknowledges a person with a disability who has made a noteworthy contribution to the community. The finalists are:

-       Issac Menge, Richard Bowden

-       And the winner is – (joint) Issac Menge & Richard Bowden

This year’s guest speaker was Huy Nguyen a humanitarian engineer, advocate for people with disability, entrepreneur, traveller, portrait artist and 2014 Young Australian of the Year Finalist. The Mayoral Awards have been held annually since 2009 to highlight the contributions made by individuals with disabilities and by individuals for the disability community.


For further information contact:

Damien Ryan (Mayor) M: 0428 825 392

Chelsea Rogers (Media & Communications) P: 8950 0529