2017 Local Government Election - 26 August

This page provides information regarding the Local Government Election to be held on Saturday 26 August 2017.

Election Results

The official results of the election have been declared. A list of the members of the 13th Alice Springs Town Council can be found here.

Election Day Voting 

Voting centres are open on election day Saturday, 26 August 2017 from 8:00 am to 6:00 pm. A list of election day voting locations can be found by clicking here.

Early Voting

Early voting is available in Alice Springs in the Andy McNeill room, adjoined to the Alice Springs Town Council Civic Centre, 93 Todd Street. Opening times are as follows:

Monday 14 August to Friday 18 August
Open 8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Saturday 19 August
Open 9:00 am to 5:00 pm

Monday 21 August to Thursday 24 August
Open 8:00 am to 5:00 pm

Friday 25 August
Open 8:00 am to 6:00 pm

For early voting outside of Alice Springs, please visit the Northern Territory Electoral Commission website.

List of candidates

A list of candidates for election to Alice Springs Town Council can be found by clicking here.

Election timetable

A timetable for the election, set by the Northern Territory Electoral Commission, can be found by clicking here.

Council Caretaker Policy

Council enacts a caretaker policy from nomination day through to the declaration of polls. This policy can be found here.

Campaigning requirements

Candidates for the election are reminded that there are regulations around the dissemination of campaign information and electoral signage. It is the candidate’s responsibility to be familiar with these requirements. Further information regarding canvassing and signage can be found here.

Thursday, July 27, 2017 - 16:00