Council Events

Mayoral Awards

2019 May­oral Awards Infor­ma­tion Pack & Nom­i­na­tion Form

can be down­loaded from here.

Year Noteworthy Award Champion Award
2009  Matthew Turner  Simone Guascoine 
2010  Daryl Strange  Karen Eva-Stirk 
2011  Michele Castagna  Cheryl Talbot 
2012  Murray Stewart  Ann Ireland 
2013  Brandon Williams  Corey Cronin 
2014  Isaac Menge, Richard Bowden  Karen Stewart, Joyanne Hastwell 
2015  Ethan Satour  Sandra Brown, Peggy Campbell 
Year Noteworthy Award Champion Award Michele Castagna Medal
2016  Jol Fleming  Jarrod Cahir, Sarah Thompson  Jol Fleming 
2017  Royston Thompson  Tiffany Keane  Karen Stewart 
2018  Adrian Robertson  Joyce Bowden  Pippa Tessmann 

The Alice Springs May­oral Awards are cel­e­brat­ed in line with the Inter­na­tion­al Day of Peo­ple with a Dis­abil­i­ty (IDP­wD) to high­light the con­tri­bu­tions made by indi­vid­u­als with dis­abil­i­ty and by indi­vid­u­als for dis­abil­i­ty communities.

The aim of the Alice Springs May­oral Awards is to high­light, acknowl­edge and give thanks to the peo­ple in the com­mu­ni­ty who make a dif­fer­ence’ – demon­strat­ed either in their own lives or through their actions and com­mit­ment to others.

2019 Key Dates

Nom­i­na­tions open Mon­day 14 Octo­ber and close 5pm, Fri­day 15 Novem­ber 2019. The awards will be pre­sent­ed on Inter­na­tion­al Day of Peo­ple with a Dis­abil­i­ty (IDP­wD), Tues­day 3 Decem­ber 2019.

Inter­na­tion­al Day of Peo­ple with a Dis­abil­i­ty (IDP­wD)

On 3rd Decem­ber every year IDP­wD is cel­e­brat­ed world­wide recog­nis­ing the achieve­ments and con­tri­bu­tions of peo­ple with disability.

IDP­wD is a Unit­ed Nations sanc­tioned day that aims to pro­mote an under­stand­ing of peo­ple with dis­abil­i­ty and encour­age sup­port for their dig­ni­ty, rights and well-being. IDP­wD also seeks to increase aware­ness of the ben­e­fits of the inte­gra­tion of peo­ple with dis­abil­i­ty in every aspect of polit­i­cal, social, eco­nom­ic and cul­tur­al life

Award Cat­e­gories and Criteria

The Note­wor­thy Award

A per­son with dis­abil­i­ty who has made a note­wor­thy con­tri­bu­tion to the community”
  1. The nom­i­nee has made a sig­nif­i­cant con­tri­bu­tion to the com­mu­ni­ty of Alice Springs in their cho­sen field of endeavour.
  2. The nom­i­nee has a proven track record of active com­mu­ni­ty involvement.
  3. The con­tri­bu­tion made by the nom­i­nee has result­ed in improve­ment of the Alice Springs com­mu­ni­ty or indi­vid­u­als with­in it.

The Cham­pi­on Award

A per­son with or with­out dis­abil­i­ty who has been an advo­cate for the rights and well-being of peo­ple with disability”
  1. The nom­i­nee has a track record of being a cham­pi­on for the rights of peo­ple with disability
  2. The nom­i­nee pro­motes or advances a greater under­stand­ing of peo­ple with disability
  3. The con­tri­bu­tion made by the nom­i­nee has result­ed in improved conditions/​ser­vices/well-being/ under­stand­ing of indi­vid­u­als or groups of peo­ple with disability.

The Michele Castagna Medal

Award­ed to an indi­vid­ual that dis­plays tenacity”

Michele Castagna OAM (3/8/ 194417/9/2016), a tire­less and active mem­ber of Council’s Access Advi­so­ry Com­mit­tee for 20-years, was incred­i­bly com­mit­ted to improv­ing dis­abil­i­ty access in Alice Springs and was inte­gral in the cre­ation of the May­oral Awards.